FireShot – screenshot editor for Firefox

Screen shots are a huge part of my workflow, especially for library instruction handouts. Mac OS has always featured an elegant keyboard shortcut + diagonal drag method for grabbing screen shots, while the Windows routine has been the print screen button + paste + cropping every single shot.

Clearly cropping is a big time waster. I was a fan of Snapper, a Firefox extension that used a Mac-like diagonal drag. Sadly, Snapper hasn’t been updated to work with the new versions of Firefox. Happily, I just found FireShot !

FireShot has the added coolness of a text editor and drawing tools, so you can embed captions & pointers in your graphic. It even makes the camera clicky noise I like so much on my Mac. Yay!

Check it out: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/5648

  • Free: Yes
  • Sign up: No
3 Responses

  1. that’s sweet. do you use it for your handouts now? I love the invert selection options.

  2. Cool, I like this very much thanks for posting!

    This works on my PC, but I can’t seem to install this one on my mac??

    I found this one that does both, and I’m on FF3 right now. I’m not sure that it does flash captures…

    https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/7215

  3. Anna, this is awesome! Thanks so much for posting it.

Leave a Reply

